100 Things to Do Before I Die (um, make that 63).

life-list.jpgA couple of months ago my friend Jen Sterling and I were having dinner discussing how we always wanted to get together and write our “life list.” We were inspired by Ted Leonsis who survived a plane crash in 1983. Upon walking away with a new found appreciation for life, he wrote a life list of the 101 things he wanted to do before he died. He put things like “own a yacht” and “win an Oscar/Emmy/Tony award” – he dared to dream big. Thing is, he’s now crossed off 71 items off his list.

So last night Jen and I sat down with our other friend Kristen to write our own “life list”. Turns out it’s harder than you may think. After a couple hours (and dry martinis) I came up with 63. We decided to take a break and reconvene for round two in about a month.

Here’s what I have so far. I’d love to hear some of your ideas so maybe I can get inspired and actually make it to 100. 🙂

1. Write a book and get it published
2. Run a marathon
3. Donate $1 million dollars anonymously
4. Earn $10,000 for an hours worth of work
5. Start a foundation/organization/association
6. Go sky diving
7. Visit all 50 States
8. Backpack through Europe
9. Scuba dive along the Great Barrier Reef in Australia
10. Eat sushi in Japan.
11. Go to Carnival in Rio
12. Take a safari in Africa
13. Get interviewed by Oprah
14. Be on the cover of a magazine
15. Land a Fortune 500 client
16. Work for the Martin Agency
17. Own an island
18. Sing on Broadway
19. License a product or idea
20. Become conversational in French
21. Become conversational in Spanish
22. Invent something and bring it to market
23. Start a band
24. Own a sports team
25. Live in Manhattan for one year
26. Live in San Francisco for one year
27. Get married on a beach
28. Have children
29. Have a net worth of $10 million (after taxes)
30. Go to the Olympics
31. Leave a $5000 tip to someone who deserves it
32. Visit the White House on a private tour
33. Have a syndicated column in a national magazine
34. Create an idea that earns $1,000,000
35. Be a mentor
36. Learn calligraphy
37. Own a Matisse
38. Own a successful restaurant
39. Pass the sommelier exam
40. Own a villa in Tuscany (vineyard optional)
41. Get a tattoo
42. Speak to an audience of more than 5000 people
43. Own a townhouse in Old Town Alexandria
44. Be invited to an A-List party
45. Take a 2 week vacation by myself
46. Own something that is haute couture
47. Donate my hair to locks of love
48. Have lunch with Seth Godin
49. Take a photography class
50. Visit Sedona
51. Learn how to tango
52. Take a helicoptor tour of Hawaii
53. Drive a motorcycle
54. Swim on a master’s swim team
55. Sell one of my paintings for over $500
56. Write a song and perform it in public
57. Take care of my parents
58. Win a “best in business” type of award
59. Become an aerobics instructor
60. Visit Sedona The Grand Canyon
61. Earn my Master’s degree
62. Own a convertible car
63. Fly an airplane

So that’s what I’ve got so far. What would you do?

Update: I must really want to go to Sedona – I put it on my list twice originally. 🙂

12 thoughts on “100 Things to Do Before I Die (um, make that 63).

  1. Pingback: If I die before I wake… « Back into the Groove

  2. Hey Andrea!

    There’s more to define the meaning of life on your list than most any other I’ve seen. Since when is Philanthropy, raising children, helping others achieve success & repaying your parents for years of support not the meaning of life? The self-sacrifice is balanced with the right amount of exploration that will no doubt make you a better person, which in turn will allow you to give your life and the ones you influence, even more meaning.

    Jeffrey

    P.S. If you need help with #38, give me a call! Love the “Hot” new look too!

  3. I love your list. :] I’m just searching the internet for ideas for my own list, and I’m already up to a little over a hundred. There’s a ton so I won’t list them all, but you asked for ideas so I figured I’d share a few of my favorites. I’ve got, “Get certified in CPR,” “Protest something peacefully,” “Protect someone aggressively,” “Get over my fear of spiders,” “Go on a mission trip to a remote place,” and “Treat a random stranger to an expensive meal.” I’m still working on it though and I’ll probably end up with 200 or more, so if you want more ideas, feel free to drop me a line! :] Good luck with yours.

  4. Your list is awesome! You’ve most definitly captured things that everyone should experince! I love # 31.. It would take someone with very special and caring to do that one. (:

    Good luck with it!

  5. Pingback: On becoming a web “triple threat” « Andrea Goulet

Comments are closed.