Adventures in Amazing Copywriting #2 – It’s all in the details

Today’s example of amazing copywriting comes to us from The Corner Bakery (yum!).

corner-bakery-sign.jpg

You know that springtime feeling of walking through freshly cut grass? No worries? No stress?

It’s the same CARE-FREEDOM-NESS I get whenever I am invited to a lunch meeting. No fear of unknown pie charts or spreadsheets, because I know I don’t have to deal with the daily drama of “WHAT AM I DOING FOR LUNCH?”

Nope, because they’ll be a delicious spread of sandwiches, salads and sweets from those friendly folks at the Corner Bakery Cafe. Does it get any better than Tomato Mozzarella Pasta Salad under the conference room fluorescent lights? Happier than enjoying a Chicken Pesto Sandwich while the Director of Purchasing explains the cost savings ramifications of the 15/16″ CROWNED CHISEL POINT STAPLE over the completely inferior 3/8″standard chisel point staple?

I take another bite, and am fairly confident I can feel the grass under my feet right now. 

We’ve got catering cornered.  

Why this works:

#1 – Correct Target Market – The Corner Bakery does a lot of catering (and they do a darned good job, too) and they clearly understand their target market in this piece. Through the descriptive copy it is clear that the intended recipient of this message 1) works in a corporate office and 2) has lunch meetings that are catered.

#2 – Tongue-In-Cheek Humor – Okay, I know I’ve been in meetings that seem silly and pointless – and the tongue-in-cheekiness of the staple comparison made me laugh because it hit close to home. This subtle humor makes the copy stand out because it forms a connection with the reader.

#3 – Details, Details, Details – What makes this piece really work is the descriptive details of the office. I could almost imagine my former boss in my old conference room with the hideous fluorescent lights talking about something boring. Only now while I am reading the copy, I imagine myself in that meeting eating some delicious Corner Bakery food.

One thought on “Adventures in Amazing Copywriting #2 – It’s all in the details

Comments are closed.