How to succeed in sales without really trying

Fellow blogger Fred Sarkari posted a true-to-life tale of a mistake that I know all of us have made at one point or another – double booking appointments. To read the full story click here.

Fred’s reaction to his mistake and the choice to be upfront, honest, and genuine is one we can all take a lesson from. We will make mistakes – there’s no question about that. The question becomes how do you handle your mistakes?

Do you hide, lie, and cheat? Because if you do – you are making a bad name for all of us who believe in selling with integrity. In addition, unethical sales is hard work – remember Quintillian’s quote, “a liar should have a good memory.” You are actually creating more work for yourself – and you’re busy already, so why would you choose to do that?

Instead, let’s dare to be honest. Let’s follow Fred’s example and reap the rewards of better clients, more referrals, and a cleaner conscience.

Kudos!

***************************************************************************************

Andrea Morris is a marketing coach who specializes in helping visionaries, entrepreneurs, consultants and small businesses use high-ROI strategies to get the right message to the right people. For more information, please visit www.writeideasmarketing.com.

Receive this blog by e-mail

3 thoughts on “How to succeed in sales without really trying

  1. Boy! When I was a young boy my father caught me lying….. I am sure it happens to everyone. (maybe) He did not chastise me or correct me but gave me this piece of advice. “it is a lot easier to be honest because as you get older you will not have to remember all the lies you told” I took it to heart and the wisdom in his story rings true. I respect him for that. I just did not know he was philospher.
    Joe.

  2. Pingback: Integrity Selling: An Interview with Fred Sarkari « Write Ideas Marketing

Comments are closed.