Cut the B.S. if you want your marketing to make an impact

Not to get all preachy, but I’m not going to beat around the bush.

If you want your audience to “get” what you do – cut the B.S. (Boastful Superlatives)

Terms like best, greatest, terrific, excellent, or outstanding don’t set you apart – they send you into the background noise.

Think about the last time you heard a line like

  • We’re the #1 company
  • Our company is committed to the highest quality
  • We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service

Did hearing a line like this compel you to buy? Probably not.

Esoteric terms like these simply don’t have the interrupt factor that is needed in today’s marketing. If everyone says they’re the best, what objective decision-making power are you giving your prospects?

Case in point – recently, I was in the grocery store on a mission to find pre-moistened cleaning cloths. I turned over the bottles to read the product descriptions on several bottles and got a lot of B.S. (boastful superlatives).

The only exception was a brand called Method®

What got me? The first line of their promotional copy.Method Cleaning Wipes

“No rubber gloves required. In fact, we’re against cleaning with rubber gloves.”

This message wasn’t fluff about how their product was the best and the greatest – instead it jumped out and seemed to speak specifically to me (I really hate cleaning with rubber gloves).

The more I read, the more I identified on a deeper level with this product and company. I was actually excited to buy them, get them home, use them and then buy more.

Product descriptions are easily overlooked in a company’s marketing efforts – and that’s a shame. The words you use have such an impact on your potential clients. When done correctly – like Method®, it’s a golden opportunity to build brand loyalty with your potential customers.

So from now on, read the product descriptions. Take note of which ones jump out at you and start writing like that. Your prospects (and your profits) will thank you for it.

***************************************************************************************

Andrea Morris is a marketing coach who specializes in helping visionaries, entrepreneurs, consultants and small businesses use high-ROI strategies to get the right message to the right people. For more information, please visit writeideasmarketing.com

9 thoughts on “Cut the B.S. if you want your marketing to make an impact

  1. It’s funny you mention this, because a good friend of mine tries to “upset” me by saying I write shampoo bottles for a living whenever he introduces me to someone. In fact, I haven’t yet written a product description for hair care yet… 😉 The point is, although he (and many others) think product descriptions are irrelevant, you are absolutely right. They are not. I’ve more than once been turned off by packaging with spelling errors and worse.

  2. I could not agree more.

    I work in high technology marketing, and high-tech firms are terrible at adding BS (Boastful Superlatives)

    I recently saw some copy for a particular firm that said this about themselves;

    “There are no other consultancies with our focus on the business potential of the Internet”

    NO OTHER CONSULTANCIES. Not 1? Hardly. There’s plenty. And I was instantly left with the feeling that the others would be better too.

    chris @ rawstylus.wordpress.com

  3. Pingback: 101 Ways to Market Your Small Business « Write Ideas Marketing

  4. Pingback: Annoying Business Buzzwords and Phrases « Write Ideas Marketing

  5. I agree with you! B.S. is useless and just disturbing the customer. Instead buying their product, customers will leave if they read nonsense ads like that.

Comments are closed.