Stitch n’ Bitch – Knitting gets edgy

Stitch n’ Bitch - Debbie StollerSometimes you just need a little edge.

Last fall while walking through a craft store, my eye glanced at Debbie Stoller’s book Stitch N’ Bitch. I did a complete double-take – a controversial title about (of all things) knitting?

After purchasing the book I found myself engrossed in the easy to read style of the book. I, who had tried many times to knit (however, unsuccessfully) was now making iPod cosies, scarves, hats and more scarves for all my friends and loved ones.

Once the holidays passed, I decided to keep the knitting going – by forming my own Stitch N’ Bitch through meetup.com – click here to check it out. Already there’s over 30 stitchers (maybe some bitchers) – and we haven’t even held our first meeting.

Ok. So what’s the point? What does this have to do with marketing? Well – its about edge. Sometimes being controversial can achieve that oh-so-important “interrupt factor” we’re always talking about.

And about the knitting – in yesterday’s USA today Patty Rhule published a great review of Kate Jacob’s newly-released book “The Friday Night Knitting Club.” In the style of Stitch N’ Bitch, her tone is witty, easy to read and packed with allusions to knitting.

“Is the ending telegraphed?” Rhule writes, “Yes. Was I snagged nonetheless? You bet your crochet hook I was.”

Kudos to both! Happy knitting 🙂

***************************************************************************************

Andrea Morris is a marketing coach who specializes in helping visionaries, entrepreneurs, consultants and small businesses use high-ROI strategies to get the right message to the right people. For more information, please visit writeideasmarketing.com